The old-fashioned swap meet meets social media

Dumpster diving has been a life-long hobby of mine. I’m not hard core like some; I don’t dumpster dive food, for example. Not that I wouldn’t if I needed to and I certainly don’t look down on those who do. It’s shameful how much perfectly good food North Americans throw away. No, my dumpster diving these days is more of the “someone else could use that” variety.

If I see furniture or household items or whatever set out on the curb, I’ll take a picture and post it and the closest intersection to https://trashnothing.com.

This plaster cow skull is one of my favourite dumpster dive finds. Other notable treasures include plants (link to geraniums), a working laptop, two identical end tables found at two different locations, rolls of chicken wire and landscaping fabric for my garden, books, books and more books, an entire box of unused 8½ x11 paper and a brand new Lagostina® frying pan.

This plaster cow skull is one of my favourite dumpster dive finds. Other notable treasures include plants, a working laptop, two identical end tables found at two different locations, rolls of chicken wire and landscaping fabric for my garden, books, books and more books, an entire box of unused 8½ x11 paper and a brand new Lagostina® frying pan.

I dreamed of a time like this. I’ve always hated seeing useful items being thrown away. All those perfectly good tables and chairs, books, ceramic pots, working blenders, just mouldering away in a landfill somewhere. Years ago, before the Web and all its ensuing children, if I saw, say, a great table at the curb—one I couldn’t use but someone else could—there was no quick way for me to spread the word.

My neighbourhood is not snooty when it comes to swapping stuff. There is no shaming of those who paw through our trash. We gladly put out our things at the curb, sometimes with a FREE sign stuck on it, ahead of garbage day knowing that someone in the ‘hood will grab it. And nine times out of ten, they usually do.

6 responses to “The old-fashioned swap meet meets social media

    • There is a certain thrill in finding just the thing you’ve been looking for. One time, I had been thinking about buying new plates and that same day someone up the street threw out an entire set. I keep thinking about bags of money, but the universe hasn’t provided (yet?!).

      • True, but as I’ve posted on my newish first ever blog of my own creation, sometimes it’s not about the bags of cash up front, but about the cents adding up. I personally won’t stop dumpster diving or looking for something to sell, heck I’ve even sold pine cones!

      • You know, I think it is odd on how you can want something and want it and not want to pay for it then lo – there it is! I did the same thing with some planters. I waited a week or two and someone just dumped six out by the dumpster in my neighborhood.

Leave a Reply

